Why you should write everyday

Leave a comment Standard

Some compare writing, especially writing a book or a novel, to birthing. You carry around these ideas inside you till you become so pregnant with them you HAVE to get it all down on paper, and watch it take shape as a book, with its own universe and people and incidents that you created from scratch. 

There was a time when I believed that too. I don’t think so anymore.

After writing regularly the past three months, I have come to realise that it is like chipping away at ourselves. It more of a self-birth, than an external birth. The more I write, the more the process evolves and so does my understanding of it, and of what is changing in me and why I have been chosen to write what comes naturally to me (and why I should not fight it).

Solar Flower - The Giant Robot of Buenos Aires - (and 24 hours until the unveiling of something really cool)

Credit: Stuckincustoms / Photopin.com

Like a sculptor who sculpts herself, writing every single day is like peeling yourself like an onion, little by little, so that you do not go into shock when the sweet center emerges.

Every line you create, every perspective you express, every emotion you put on paper and yes, every book you write removes the debris surrounding your soul and makes you shinier, cleaner, luminous.

The more you write, the better you think, the better you become.

And what they say is true – writing is like a muscle. You need to exercise it every day, to keep it in top shop. Ignore it too long, and it becomes slack and useless…

writemuscle

Credit: Sarahreido / Photopin.com

I can talk, because I left it for eight long long years and the comeback effort was so mind-breaking (I now know how tough it is for an addict to claw hey way back to sanity) that I never, ever want to go through it again. Just to avoid that pain, I would keep writing every day!

FURTHER READING:

http://goinswriter.com/write-every-day/

http://zenhabits.net/write-daily/

http://lifehacker.com/how-writing-regularly-changed-my-life-and-how-you-can-746865755

Leave a Reply

